Tomato Soup, Blue Ribbon Bean Salad & Pomegranate and Pink Grapefruit Salad

This time ’round I wanted to make recipes that would hold up well overnight and re-served the following day (and dare I say, even improve after 24 hours in the fridge). All three recipes came from children’s cook books so I’d hoped the flavors would be palatable for the kids. I’m not so sure now though.

This is my first home made tomato soup. Cedar helped. It has a mild kick to it (more than I thought it would actually). The recipe said it made 4 servings so I doubled it, naturally. In the end, I have 4 quarts to put into the freezer, plus your pyrex full and what we ate tonight. Golly.

Gryffin made the bean salad. I’m curious how it will taste tomorrow… something was bitter today. Too much onion I think. It might mellow out overnight.

The fruit salad is something different. Tasty, but different. It’s a winter fruit salad… grapefruit, grapes, pomegranate, marinating in a sweet agave dressing, with walnuts mixed in.

We ended up making vegan grilled cheese too, to dip in the soup. Not included here, but make some if you think you’ll like it!

 

 

One thought on “Tomato Soup, Blue Ribbon Bean Salad & Pomegranate and Pink Grapefruit Salad

  1. I so desperately tried to get this comment posted earlier but I failed. I did go ahead and make grilled cheese sandwiches to go with the meal. Neal & I ate ours up. The soup was lovely and such a nice texture. It reminded me of a soup I used to have for lunch when I was a career girl in London. The kids tried it, but it was too spicy for them. Their palates are so sensitive. I think if I made this soup with no spice (which I wouldn’t particularly enjoy) they would have loved the soup as well. The salad was very nice and fresh. I really liked it. The vinegar (or something sweet) was a little strong, but I would eat that salad for lunch every single day. I want the recipe. Like I told you the other evening, Loti wanted to comment, “I love you Mandy.” Milo said, “I didn’t really like this meal. I’m sorry.” Please don’t take these comments personally. It was a success. Please pass on the recipes. Oh, the fruit, didn’t finish it but it was nice. Very different for us but the flavors were nice.

Leave a Reply

