Shepherd’s Pie with Gravy, Cranberry Chutney and Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

Reheat instructions:

Shepherds pie
Add a few dollops of butter to top.
Reheat in oven until hot and bubbly. Vegetables are only al dente so heat thoroughly.

Gravy
Heat on stovetop to warm.

Mashed potatoes
I ended up w way more spuds than needed for the topping so I sent some along. Reheat in oven if you don’t mind a crunchy top layer. Add dollops of butter to lessen that effect.

Cranberry chutney
Serve cold.

Cookies
Have been frozen so bring to room temperature.

One thought on “Shepherd’s Pie with Gravy, Cranberry Chutney and Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

  1. Shepherds pie is so English to me. Mostly because I first had it in London compliments of Pam. Also, because potatoes go down so very well on both sides of our family. There are no leftovers (some mash but only a serving). It was Neal & I that devoured it. The gravy, haven’t seen texture like that & the taste…unusual, but incredible. I’m not a gravy girl but Neal has brought me around as he IS a gravy man. The gravy was the icing on top. The kids, well, it’s a bit complicated. I’m pretty confident Milo would have enjoyed the mash & pie. We left him in Mansfield & he’s come back all different. Loti, I think she only eats 2 days a month. So now I’m just trying to figure out which 2 days. Edan, totally not like him but he’s had an infection, virus, cough, etc that I think his appetite is off. These are not excuses! The pie & gravy are definitely at the top of co-op meals. No one has tried the cookies but me. I think I may just keep it that way. I’m not a raisin fan. Too many as a kid. The stickiness. Texture. However, my dad LOVES oatmeal raisin so my family has dabbled in a recipe or two. I love oatmeal & all that goes with it but ax the raisins. I’m pleasantly surprised that your raisins go against my norm. I love them. Yes, I want the recipe & yes, I will bake them without raisins but that is only out of habit. There are only so many comfort zones I can expand at a time. Thank you for making such a damn fine meal for me & my family.

Leave a Reply

